The 145th Open Championship at Royal Troon

The 145th Open Championships (aka ‘The British Open’ for those of us who live outside the UK) is on this week from Thursday 14th July – Sunday 17th July 2016 and is being held at Royal Troon. This is the 9th time the course has hosted the event (the last time was 2004).

Steeped in history, Royal Troon (founded in 1878) is renowned as a character-filled links course, where the strong winds can make the back 9 as tough as they get.

Troon will feature both the longest and the shortest holes in the Open rota, with the 6th hole par 5 sitting at 601 yards and the shortest hole, the infamous ‘Postage Stamp’ 8th par 3 sits at 123 yards.

The past 6 British Open winners at Royal Troon have been American and we think it’s time an Aussie took the mantle!

We’ve got an amazing 11 Aussies in the mix: World No. 1 Jason Day, Adam Scott, Marc Leishman, Greg Chalmers, Rod Pampling, Steven Bowditch, Matt Jones, Scott Hend, Nick Cullen, Nathan Holman and last, but not least – confirmed thanks to Tiger Woods’ withdrawal from the tournament – is Marcus Fraser.

The tee times for the Aussies (in AEST) are:

Round 1 (Thursday 14th) Round 2 (Friday 15th) Aussie Golfer Group Members
3:35 pm 8:36 pm Marc Leishman  Colin Montgomerie & Luke Donald
3:46 pm 8:47 pm Marcus Fraser Steven Alker & Sanghee Lee
4:30 pm 9:31 pm Steven Bowditch Alex Noren & Kevin Chappell
5:47 pm 10:48 pm Scott Hend Victor Dubuisson & Jimmy Walker
6:25 pm 11:26 pm Jason Day Danny Willett & Rickie Fowler
7:42 pm 12:43 am (Sat 16th) Matt Jones Brendan Steele & Richard Sterne
7:53 pm 12:54 am (Sat 16th) Rod Pampling Patton Kizzire & Nicolas Colsaerts
8:04 pm 1:05 am (Sat 16th) Nathan Holman Dave Coupland & Phachara Khongwatmai
8:36 pm 3:35 pm Greg Chalmers Kristoffer Broberg & Clement Sordet
8:58 pm 3:57 pm Nick Cullen Jordan Niebrugge & Robert Streb
11:15 pm 6:14 pm Adam Scott Zach Johnson & Henrik Stenson

And here’s where you can WATCH them …

For all the LIVE action, tune in to Fox Sports 4/4HD (dates/times are AEST):

Coverage Date   Time
Preview Thursday 14th July 3.00pm - 3.30pm
Round 1 Thursday 14th July 3.30pm - 5.30am
Round 2 Friday 15th July 3.30pm - 5.30am
Round 3 Saturday 16th July 7.00pm - 5.00am
Round 4 Sunday 17th July 6.00pm - 5.00am

Click here for a hole by hole snapshot of Royal Troon!



Subscribe for News & Promotions